Commission sends reasoned opinions to 13 Member States for failure to transpose CDSM Directive into national law

Author: Sara Moran
Published: 26.05.2022
Photo by Sara Kurfeß on Unsplash Last week, the European Commission sent reasoned opinions to 13 Member States (Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Denmark, Greece, France, Latvia, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland and Sweden) for failure to notify the Commission of transposition measures on copyright and related rights in the Digital Single Market (Directive (EU) 2019/790) (CDSM Directive) The CDSM Directive was published in May 2019 (see here and here for an overview), following a controversial legislative process at EU level. The Directive entered into force in June 2019 and had to be transposed by Member States by 7 June 2021. National…